New directors and a new executive for the Canadian Pork Council

January 16, 2018 OTTAWA - Members of the Canadian Pork Council’s Board of Directors met last week for their first meeting of 2018.

The Canadian Pork Council welcomed six new members to its Board of Directors, namely Yvan Fréchette and René Roy from Québec, Doug Ahrens and Oliver Haan from Ontario, Dan Majeau from Alberta and Casey Smit from Saskatchewan.

They are continuing the great work of past board members Teresa Van Raay, Bill Wymenga, Frank Novak, Dickson Gould, David Duval, Normand Martineau.

“I would like to welcome the new members to the Board of Directors and thank them for getting involved at the national level to advance, promote and protect the excellence of Canadian pork production thought effective advocacy, programs and communication” said Rick Bergmann, CPC Chair. “I would also like to thank outgoing Board Directors for their incredible contribution to the Canadian pork sector over the years. Their expertise allowed the Canadian Pork Council to make great strides for the pork industry.”


2018 CPC Board of Directors

The newly formed board started the meeting by electing its executive for 2018. Rick Bergmann, a producer from Manitoba was re-elected as chairman. He has been chairing the board of directors since 2015. Hans Kristensen, a producer from New Brunswick was elected as 1st vice-chair and René Roy, a producer from Québec as 2nd Vice Chair.

Executive committee

The Canadian Pork Council is the national voice for hog producers in Canada. A federation of nine provincial pork industry associations representing 7,000 farms, the organization plays a leadership role in achieving and maintaining a dynamic and prosperous Canadian pork sector.


Media Contact:

Gary Stordy
Manager, Public Relations
Canadian Pork Council
613 236-9239 ext. 277

Return to News Releases