ASEAN - Association of Southeast Asian Nations

A Canada-ASEAN free trade agreement would allow greater access to some of the world's fastest-growing economies. ASEAN countries are increasing their consumption of pork in response to their growing household incomes and represent great markets for Canadian pork.

On September 1, 2018 the Government of Canada published a notice of consultations on a possible Canada-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement. Please click here to read a copy of the CPC's submission into this consultation.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations includes:

  • Brunei Darussalam 
  • Cambodia
  • Indonesia
  • Lao PDR
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Out of these 10 countries, four are part of the CPTPP: Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam. The Philippines and Thailand, on the other hand, are not part of any other free trade agreement. These two countries represent important pork markets. The Philippines is our 7th largest lucrative market with sales of $93 million and 5th largest market in volume with 43 thousand tons of Canadian pork exported there in 2017. In 2017, we have seen a 60% increase in value and 43% increase in volume over 2016.

  • A Canada-ASEAN FTA offers the potential to extend gains earned through CPTPP to other Asian markets.